Iowa's ATV Carry Act - 2016

ATV Carry Act

HF2283 – Previously HF2066
Allows lawful Permit to Carry holders to carry while using off-road vehicles

Bill history:
1/20/16 – Introduced
1/28/16 – Passed a House of Representatives Natural Resources subcommittee vote
2/4/16 – Passed a House Natural Resources vote
2/23/16 – Passed a House of Representatives vote – 78 to 20
3/10/16 – Passed a Senate Natural Resources subcommittee vote WITH AMENDMENT – 3 to 0
3/10/16 – Passed a Senate Natural Resources committee vote WITH AMENDMENT – 12 to 1
3/22/16 – Passed a Senate vote WITH AMENDMENT – 43 to 4
3/23/16 – Passed a concurrence vote in House – 77 to 18

Senate amendment information

The ATV Carry Act, passed the Iowa House of Representatives 78 to 20 on February 23rd. When the Senate Natural Resources Committee got a hold of it they promptly amended this bill. Their originally proposed amendment did the following:

-Makes the bill only apply to pistols and revolvers (long guns must still be kept unloaded and cased)
-Requires the use of a “retention holster” (but does not define what a retention holster is)
-Removes a provision that allows landowners to carry on an ATV or snowmobile without a Permit to Carry, so long as they remain on property they own or possess
-Inserts a prohibition on shooting from an ATV or snowmobile under any circumstances (the original House version prohibited shooting from the vehicles while “hunting or attempting to hunt”)

In our testimony to the Senate Natural Resources subcommittee, IFC voiced strong opposition to these unnecessary changes to the House approved language of the bill. We were able to convince the subcommittee members to reinsert the provision allowing persons to carry unrestricted on their own property. This is a vital correction, as it is anticipated that rural landowners will be the primary beneficiaries of this legislative reform.

When HF2283 came before the full Natural Resources Committee, Senator Ken Rozenboom (R-Oskaloosa), offered an amendment that effected the changes listed above, but with the corrective language regarding private property. In addition, Sen. Rozenboom included a provision that would allow Iowans to carry loaded and uncased long guns when operating their vehicles on land they own or possess. In making the case for this provision, the Senator used the example of a cattleman who might come upon a coyote attacking a calf and needing immediate access to his firearm. The amendment was approved without objection by the full committee, which then approved the bill with only Sen. Bolkcom (D-Iowa City) voting in opposition.

Though the amendment was improved in committee, it raises immediate questions: What constitutes a “retention holster?” Aren’t all holsters considered retention devices? They’re designed hold our weapon in a safe way, right? Who get’s to define what is and is not a “retention holster?” These are all valid questions that the Senate Democrats have left unanswered, and that’s a very big problem. Then there’s the fact that this amendment only applies to handguns and not long guns as well.

Nearly one in ten Iowans now hold a Permit to Carry, but current Iowa law prohibits anyone from carrying a firearm while riding an ATV, snowmobile, side-by-side vehicle, or any other off-road vehicle. This means anyone out riding recreationally, farming, or simply riding from point A to point B is committing a crime if they have a firearm with them that’s not unloaded and in a case.

This bill would amend the state code and allow all lawful Permit to Carry holders to carry their weapon with them while they are using an off-road vehicle.

Return to the 2016 legislative session update page

House voting record (2/23/16):

Name District Party County Email
Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story
Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone
Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair
Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock
Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette
Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn
Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk
Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll
Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek
Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk
Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell
Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine
Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines
Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk
Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury
Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story
Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold
Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque
Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama
John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk
Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie
Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke
Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello
Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago
Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler
Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison
Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk
Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury
Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie
Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion
David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry
Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones
Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk
Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford
Chuck Holz 5 Republican Plymouth
Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee
Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay
Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury
Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar
Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee
Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington
Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk
John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux
John Landon 37 Republican Polk
Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott
Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek
Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie
Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster
Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott
Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton
Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson
Tom Moore 21 Republican Cass
Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk
Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk
Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren
Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn
Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott
Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton
Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd
Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn
Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk
Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton
Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn
Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk
Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa
Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun
Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose
David Sieck 23 Republican Mills
Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn
Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas
Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott
Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo
Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska
Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas
John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson
Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison
Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton
Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista

NO VOTES – 20        
Name District Party County Email
Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk
Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk
Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque
Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk
Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story
Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk
Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque
Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson
Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper
Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson
Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson
Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk
Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk
Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall
Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn
Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo
Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson
Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story
Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott

Media Coverage

Iowa House bill allows loaded guns on ATVs, snowmobiles
Firearms Coalition: Allow Loaded Guns on Snowmobiles
Iowa House seeks to change firearms law
Editorial: Do we need loaded guns on ATVs, snowmobiles?

Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.