Emergency Protection Act

HF2280 – Previously HF2044
Guarantees Second Amendment rights are not suspended during a state of emergency

Bill history:
1/15/16 – Introduced
1/21/16 Passed a House of Representatives Judiciary subcommittee vote
2/4/16 – Passed a House Judiciary vote
2/23/16 – Passed House of Representatives vote – 67 to 31

Current location:
Senate Judiciary Committee

This bill would prohibit the confiscation of firearms, ammunition, and other Second Amendment rights during a “disaster emergency proclamation” or “public disorder” declared by the governor, or any other state official, or any community within the State of Iowa. In essence this bill would keep Hurricane Katrina style confiscation of firearms from happening in Iowa.

More specifically, during times of emergency it would keep government officials from: prohibiting, regulating, or curtailing the lawful use of firearms, or ammunition. They also could not suspend or revoke concealed carry permits or permits to acquire. The also could not seize or confiscate legally owned firearms or ammunition.

Under this bill government officials could not force a gun shop to close down, or limit their operating hours, while other businesses in the area are allowed to remain open. Gun shops could be closed down only if all businesses the area are also shut down.

If a person’s Second Amendment Rights are unlawfully violated during times of emergency under this bill that person is allowed pursue legal action to get their firearm and ammunition back. The government that unlawfully confiscated the firearm or ammunition would also be responsible for the victim’s court costs and attorney’s fees.

Return to the 2016 legislative session update page

House voting record (2/23/16):

YES VOTES – 67        
Name District Party County Email
Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov
Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock terry.baxter@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette bruce.bearinger@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll brian.best@legis.iowa.gov
Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek darrel.branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell josh.byrnes@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story dave.deyoe@legis.iowa.gov
Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov
Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov
John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov
Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello mary.gaskill@legis.iowa.gov
Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler pat.grassley@legis.iowa.gov
Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk jake.highfill@legis.iowa.gov
Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov
Chuck Holz 5 Republican Plymouth chuck.holz@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury ron.jorgensen@legis.iowa.gov
Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov
Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux john.kooiker@legis.iowa.gov
John Landon 37 Republican Polk john.landon@legis.iowa.gov
Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov
Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott linda.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton norlin.mommsen@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Moore 21 Republican Cass tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov
Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren scott.ourth@legis.iowa.gov
Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott ross.paustian@legis.iowa.gov
Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov
Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn ken.rizer@legis.iowa.gov
Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov
Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov
Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa tom.sands@legis.iowa.gov
Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun mike.sexton@legis.iowa.gov
Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose larry.sheets@legis.iowa.gov
David Sieck 23 Republican Mills david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov
Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn quentin.stanerson@legis.iowa.gov
Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov
Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska guy.vander.linden@legis.iowa.gov
Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas ralph.watts@legis.iowa.gov
John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson john.wills@legis.iowa.gov
Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

NO VOTES – 31
Name District Party County Email
Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk ako.abdul-samad@legis.iowa.gov
Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn liz.bennett@legis.iowa.gov
Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk timi.brown-powers@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov
Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque nancy.dunkel@legis.iowa.gov
Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque abby.finkenauer@legis.iowa.gov
Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov
Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story lisa.heddens@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson david.jacoby@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper dan.kelley@legis.iowa.gov
Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov
Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall mark.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn art.staed@legis.iowa.gov
Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov
Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson sally.stutsman@legis.iowa.gov
Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn todd.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov

 

Media coverage

Proposed law supports gun owners during emergencies in Iowa


Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.