Hearing Protection Act

HF2279formerly HF2043
Legalizes suppressors in Iowa

Bill history:
1/15/16 – Introduced
1/26/16 – Passed a House of Representatives Judiciary subcommittee vote
2/4/16 – Passed a House Judiciary vote
2/23/16 – Passed House vote
3/1/16 – Passed a Senate Judiciary Subcommittee vote
3/2/16 – Passed a Senate Judiciary Committee vote
3/17/16 – Passed a Senate vote 46 to 4 with an amendment
3/22/16 – Passed a House concurrence vote 77 to 22
3/31/16 – SIGNED INTO LAW!

Iowa is one of just nine states in the entire country that prohibits its citizens from owning a firearms suppressor. Despite how they’re portrayed by Hollywood and gun control advocates suppressors do not silence a firearm. In reality they cut the noise signature of a gunshot by approximately 20-25%. While this doesn’t eliminate the noise of a gun shot (as many would have you believe) it does lower it enough that the ear damaging effects to the shooter and those around them are reduced by a significant margin. Many European countries require gun owners to own suppressors as a common courtesy to those around them.

Return to the 2016 legislative session update page

House concurrence voting record (3/22/16):

YES votes – 77        
Name District no. Party County Email
Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov
Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock terry.baxter@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette bruce.bearinger@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll brian.best@legis.iowa.gov
Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek darrel.branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk timi.brown-powers@legis.iowa.gov
Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell josh.byrnes@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov
Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story dave.deyoe@legis.iowa.gov
Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov
Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque nancy.dunkel@legis.iowa.gov
Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov
John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov
Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov
Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler pat.grassley@legis.iowa.gov
Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk jake.highfill@legis.iowa.gov
Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov
Chuck Holz 5 Republican Plymouth chuck.holz@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury ron.jorgensen@legis.iowa.gov
Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov
Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov
Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux john.kooiker@legis.iowa.gov
Bob Kressig 59 Democrat Black Hawk bob.kressig@legis.iowa.gov
John Landon 37 Republican Polk john.landon@legis.iowa.gov
Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov
Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott linda.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton norlin.mommsen@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Moore 21 Republican Cass tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov
Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren scott.ourth@legis.iowa.gov
Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott ross.paustian@legis.iowa.gov
Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov
Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn ken.rizer@legis.iowa.gov
Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov
Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov
Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa tom.sands@legis.iowa.gov
Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun mike.sexton@legis.iowa.gov
Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose larry.sheets@legis.iowa.gov
David Sieck 23 Republican Mills david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov
Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn quentin.stanerson@legis.iowa.gov
Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Todd Taylor 70 Democrat Linn todd.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov
Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov
Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska guy.vander.linden@legis.iowa.gov
Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas ralph.watts@legis.iowa.gov
John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson john.wills@legis.iowa.gov
Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

 

NO votes – 22        
Name District no. Party County Email
Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk ako.abdul-samad@legis.iowa.gov
Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn liz.bennett@legis.iowa.gov
Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque abby.finkenauer@legis.iowa.gov
Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello mary.gaskill@legis.iowa.gov
Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story lisa.heddens@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson david.jacoby@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper dan.kelley@legis.iowa.gov
Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov
Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall mark.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn art.staed@legis.iowa.gov
Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov
Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson sally.stutsman@legis.iowa.gov
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate voting record – 3/17/16

YES votes – 46        
Name District Party County Email
Chaz Allen 15 Democrat Jasper chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov
Bill Anderson 3 Republican Woodbury bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry Behn 24 Republican Boone jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
Rick Bertrand 7 Republican Woodbury rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov
Tony Bisignano 17 Democrat Polk tony.bisignano@legis.iowa.gov
Tod Bowman 29 Democrat Jackson tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Brase 46 Democrat Muscatine chris.brase@legis.iowa.gov
Michael Breitbach 28 Republican Clayton michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Chapman 10 Republican Dallas jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Chelgren 41 Republican Wapello mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Costello 12 Republican Mills mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov
Thomas G. Courtney 44 Democrat Des Moines thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov
Jeff Danielson 30 Democrat Black Hawk jeffdanielson@gmail.com
Dick L. Dearden 16 Democrat Polk dick.dearden@legis.iowa.gov
Bill Dix 25 Republican Butler bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov
William A. Dotzler Jr. 31 Democrat Black Hawk bill.dotzler@legis.iowa.gov
Randy Feenstra 2 Republican Sioux randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov
Julian B. Garrett 13 Republican Warren julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
Michael E. Gronstal 8 Democrat Pottawattamie mike.gronstal@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis Guth 4 Republican Hancock dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov
Rita Hart 49 Democrat Clinton rita.hart@legis.iowa.gov
Wally E. Horn 35 Democrat Linn wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov
Pam Jochum 50 Democrat Dubuque pam.jochum@legis.iowa.gov
David Johnson 1 Republican Osceola david.johnson@legis.iowa.gov
Tim L. Kapucian 38 Republican Benton tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov
Kevin Kinney 39 Democrat Johnson kevin.kinney@legis.iowa.gov
Tim Kraayenbrink 5 Republican Webster tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov
Liz Mathis 34 Democrat Linn liz.mathis@legis.iowa.gov
Matt McCoy 21 Democrat Polk matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov
Janet Petersen 18 Democrat Polk janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov
Amanda Ragan 27 Democrat Cerro Gordo amanda.ragan@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rozenboom 40 Republican Mahaska ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Schneider 22 Republican Dallas charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Schoenjahn 32 Democrat Fayette brian.schoenjahn@legis.iowa.gov
Jason Schultz 9 Republican Crawford jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Segebart 6 Republican Crawford mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov
Joe M. Seng 45 Democrat Scott joe.seng@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Shipley 11 Republican Adams tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov
Amy Sinclair 14 Republican Wayne amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov
Roby Smith 47 Republican Scott roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Steven J. Sodders 36 Democrat Marshall steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov
Rich Taylor 42 Democrat Henry rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Jack Whitver 19 Republican Polk jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Jo Wilhelm 26 Democrat Howard mary.jo.wilhelm@legis.iowa.gov
Brad Zaun 20 Republican Polk brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Zumbach 48 Republican Delaware dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

 

NO votes – 4
Name District Party County Email
Joe Bolkcom 43 Democrat Johnson joe.bolkcom@legis.iowa.gov
Robert E. Dvorsky 37 Democrat Johnson robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov
Robert Hogg 33 Democrat Linn rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov
Herman C. Quirmbach 23 Democrat Story hcqbach@gmail.com

 

House voting record (2/23/16):

YES VOTES – 74        
Name District Party County Email
Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov
Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock terry.baxter@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette bruce.bearinger@legis.iowa.gov
Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll brian.best@legis.iowa.gov
Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek darrel.branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk timi.brown-powers@legis.iowa.gov
Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell josh.byrnes@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story dave.deyoe@legis.iowa.gov
Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov
Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov
John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov
Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov
Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler pat.grassley@legis.iowa.gov
Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov
Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk jake.highfill@legis.iowa.gov
Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov
Chuck Holz 5 Republican Plymouth chuck.holz@legis.iowa.gov
Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury ron.jorgensen@legis.iowa.gov
Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov
Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov
Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux john.kooiker@legis.iowa.gov
John Landon 37 Republican Polk john.landon@legis.iowa.gov
Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov
Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott linda.miller@legis.iowa.gov
Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton norlin.mommsen@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Moore 21 Republican Cass tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov
Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren scott.ourth@legis.iowa.gov
Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott ross.paustian@legis.iowa.gov
Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov
Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn ken.rizer@legis.iowa.gov
Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov
Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov
Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa tom.sands@legis.iowa.gov
Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun mike.sexton@legis.iowa.gov
Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose larry.sheets@legis.iowa.gov
David Sieck 23 Republican Mills david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov
Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn quentin.stanerson@legis.iowa.gov
Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov
Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov
Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska guy.vander.linden@legis.iowa.gov
Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas ralph.watts@legis.iowa.gov
John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson john.wills@legis.iowa.gov
Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

 

NO VOTES – 24        
Name District Party County Email
Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk ako.abdul-samad@legis.iowa.gov
Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn liz.bennett@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov
Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque nancy.dunkel@legis.iowa.gov
Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque abby.finkenauer@legis.iowa.gov
Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello mary.gaskill@legis.iowa.gov
Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story lisa.heddens@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov
Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson david.jacoby@legis.iowa.gov
Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper dan.kelley@legis.iowa.gov
Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov
Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall mark.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn art.staed@legis.iowa.gov
Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo sharon.steckman@legis.iowa.gov
Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson sally.stutsman@legis.iowa.gov
Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn todd.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov

Media coverage

Iowa House panel removes age restrictions on handgun use, proposes lessening other gun restrictions


Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.