Youth Safety & Parental Rights Act

HF2281 – Previously HF2042
Repeals Iowa’s ban on supervised youth handgun training

Bill history:
1/15/16 – Introduced
1/25/16 – Passed a House of Representatives Judiciary subcommittee vote
2/4/16 – Passed a House Judiciary vote
2/23/16 – Passed House of Representatives 62-36

Current location:
Senate Judiciary Committee

Currently anyone under the age of 14 is strictly prohibited from holding or shooting a handgun in Iowa — regardless of whether or not that minor is under parental supervision. This bill would amend the state code to allow a person under 14 to lawfully shoot a handgun, with proper supervision, as long as their parent, guardian, or spouse who is 21 years of age or older has provided consent.

In short, it restores the rights of Iowa parents to determine when their children are ready to learn proper handgun safety, rather than having a bunch of bureaucrats in Des Moines tell you when it’s OK to teach your kids to shoot.

Return to the 2016 legislative session update page

House voting record (2/23):

Name District Party County Email
Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story
Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone
Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair
Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock
Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll
Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek
Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell
Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine
Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk
Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury
Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story
Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold
Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama
Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie
Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke
Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago
Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler
Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison
Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk
Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie
Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion
David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry
Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones
Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk
Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford
Chuck Holz 5 Republican Plymouth
Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee
Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay
Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury
Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar
Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington
Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk
John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux
John Landon 37 Republican Polk
Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott
Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek
Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott
Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton
Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson
Tom Moore 21 Republican Cass
Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk
Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk
Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn
Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott
Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton
Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn
Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk
Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton
Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk
Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa
Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun
Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose
David Sieck 23 Republican Mills
Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn
Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas
Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo
Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska
Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas
John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson
Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison
Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton
Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista





Name District Party County Email
Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk
Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk
Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette
Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn
Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk
Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk
Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines
Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque
Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque
John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk
Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk
Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello
Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury
Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story
Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk
Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque
Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson
Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee
Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper
Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson
Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson
Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie
Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk
Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster
Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk
Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren
Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd
Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn
Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall
Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn
Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo
Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson
Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn
Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story
Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott

Media coverage:

Republicans: Let Kids Handle Pistols and Revolvers
Young girls renew effort for gun rights at Statehouse
Iowa House panel removes age restrictions on handgun use, proposes lessening other gun restrictions

Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.