10 Legislators Decide Fate of Omnibus Firearms Bill

10 Legislators to Determine the Fate of the Omnibus Firearms Bill

Just as we predicted, the 2015 Standings Bill (and consequentially the Omnibus Firearms Bill) has gone to a conference committee. For more details on what a conference committee is read our most recent weekly update. In a nutshell it means 10 legislators have been picked to essentially decide the future of the Omnibus Firearms Bill. Those 10 legislators are:

Chuck Soderberg, Kraig Paulsen, Linda Upmeyer, Kirsten Running-Marquardt, Chris Hall
Robert Dvorsky, Mike Gronstal, Pam Jochum, Bill Dix, and Jack Whitver

The decision these 10 legislators settle on will almost certainly decide whether or not Iowans see any significant improvements in our Second Amendment rights this year.

It’s been 5 years since we’ve had any major improvements to Iowa’s firearms laws. Year after year after year we’ve been told “Sorry guys. We’ll get that done next year.” They’ve done this to our Stand Your Ground bill, Constitutional Carry, legalizing suppressors, gun owner privacy protection, repealing the youth handgun training ban, and more. Every year it’s the same thing “Sorry. We’ll definitely get that done next year.” We need you to make sure these 10 legislators get the message loud and clear:

Promises of next year aren’t going to cut it! We’ve heard that before and we know where it gets us. Pass the Omnibus Firearms Bill in its entirety THIS YEAR.

Here’s the email addresses for each of the Conference Committee members. Let them know you’ve waited long enough.

chuck.soderberg@legis.iowa.gov; kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov; linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov; kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov; chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov; robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov; mike.gronstal@legis.iowa.gov; pam.jochum@legis.iowa.gov; bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov; jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov


Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.

Our readers said:

Write us your thoughts about this post. Be kind & Play nice.
  1. John Banzhaf says:

    I do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion, and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God.

    Just do as you said you would. The
    Military and Law enforcement do.

Express your thoughts