• Active Gun Bills in Iowa – Who voted For & Against

    February 9, 2016

    Below you’ll find the voting record for all four of the February 4th committee votes on pro gun owner bills.

    We’ve included who was for and who was against each bill, as well as each legislator’s email address. We encourage you to email all those who were in favor of these bills and thank them for supporting your rights and the rights of Iowans.

    If you choose to email those who voted against any of these bills please maintain a respectful tone while expressing your displeasure with their vote. We know for a fact that gun control advocates are looking for any reason they can find to label us as radical, so we must do everything we can to prove them wrong. That includes the manner in which we interact with those of differing viewpoints. In short, we’re all adults so let’s act like it.


    Join us for the
    2016 Second Amendment Day in the capitol
    February 23rd


     

     

    Youth Safety & Parental Rights Act – HF2042

    House of Representatives: Judiciary Committee vote February 4th

    Passed 17-4

    Nay votes:

    Marti Anderson (D, District 36) – marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
    Brian Meyer (D, District 33) – brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
    Jo Oldson (D, District 41) – jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
    Todd Prichard (D, District 52) – todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov

    Aye votes:

    Chip Baltimore (R, District 47), Chair – chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
    Stan Gustafson (R, District 25), Vice Chair – stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
    Mary Lynn Wolfe (D, District 98), Ranking Member – mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
    Terry C. Baxter (R, District 8) – Terry.Baxter@legis.iowa.gov
    Deborah L. Berry (D, District 62) – deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
    Darrel Branhagen (R, District 55) – Darrel.Branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
    Dave Dawson (D, District 14) – dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
    Greg Heartsill (R, District 28) – greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
    David E. Heaton (R, District 84) – dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
    Megan Jones (R, District 2) – megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
    Bobby Kaufmann (R, District 73) – bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
    Zach Nunn (R, District 30) – Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov
    Rick Olson (D, District 31) – rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
    Kraig Paulsen (R, District 67) – kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
    Ken Rizer (R, District 68) – Ken.Rizer@legis.iowa.gov
    Walt Rogers (R, District 60) – walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
    Matt W. Windschitl (R, District 17) – matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov

    Hearing Protection Act – HF2043

    House of Representatives: Judiciary Committee vote February 4th

    Passed 18-3

    Nay Votes:

    Marti Anderson (D, District 36) – marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
    Deborah L. Berry (D, District 62) – deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
    Jo Oldson (D, District 41) – jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov

    Aye votes:

    Chip Baltimore (R, District 47), Chair – chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
    Stan Gustafson (R, District 25), Vice Chair – stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
    Mary Lynn Wolfe (D, District 98), Ranking Member – mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
    Terry C. Baxter (R, District 8) – Terry.Baxter@legis.iowa.gov
    Darrel Branhagen (R, District 55) – Darrel.Branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
    Dave Dawson (D, District 14) – dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
    Greg Heartsill (R, District 28) – greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
    David E. Heaton (R, District 84) – dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
    Megan Jones (R, District 2) – megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
    Bobby Kaufmann (R, District 73) – bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
    Brian Meyer (D, District 33) – brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
    Zach Nunn (R, District 30) – Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov
    Rick Olson (D, District 31) – rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
    Kraig Paulsen (R, District 67) – kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
    Todd Prichard (D, District 52) – todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
    Ken Rizer (R, District 68) – Ken.Rizer@legis.iowa.gov
    Walt Rogers (R, District 60) – walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
    Matt W. Windschitl (R, District 17) – matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.go

    Emergency Protection Act – HF2044

    House of Representatives: Judiciary Committee vote February 4th

    Passed 17-4

    Nay Votes:

    Marti Anderson (D, District 36) – marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
    Deborah L. Berry (D, District 62) – deborah.berry@legis.iowa.gov
    Jo Oldson (D, District 41) – jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
    Rick Olson (D, District 31) – rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov

    Aye votes:

    Chip Baltimore (R, District 47), Chair – chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
    Stan Gustafson (R, District 25), Vice Chair – stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
    Mary Lynn Wolfe (D, District 98), Ranking Member – mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
    Terry C. Baxter (R, District 8) – Terry.Baxter@legis.iowa.gov
    Darrel Branhagen (R, District 55) – Darrel.Branhagen@legis.iowa.gov
    Dave Dawson (D, District 14) – dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
    Greg Heartsill (R, District 28) – greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
    David E. Heaton (R, District 84) – dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
    Megan Jones (R, District 2) – megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
    Bobby Kaufmann (R, District 73) – bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
    Brian Meyer (D, District 33) – brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
    Zach Nunn (R, District 30) – Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov
    Kraig Paulsen (R, District 67) – kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov
    Todd Prichard (D, District 52) – todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
    Ken Rizer (R, District 68) – Ken.Rizer@legis.iowa.gov
    Walt Rogers (R, District 60) – walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov
    Matt W. Windschitl (R, District 17) – matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov

    ATV Carry Act – HF2066

    House of Representatives: Natural Resources Committee vote February 4th

    Passed 17-1

    Nay votes:

    Lisa Heddens (D, District 46)– lisa.heddens@legis.iowa.gov

    Aye votes:

    Brian Moore (R, District 58), Chair – brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov
    Dean Fisher (R, District 72), Vice Chair – dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov
    Curt Hanson (D, District 82), Ranking Member – curt.hanson@legis.iowa.gov
    Rob Bacon (R, District 48) – rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
    Clel Baudler (R, District 20) – clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov
    Liz Bennett (D, District 65) – Liz.Bennett@legis.iowa.gov
    Brian Best (R, District 12) – Brian.Best@legis.iowa.gov
    Chris Hall (D, District 13) – chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov
    Daniel A. Huseman (R, District 3) – dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
    Jarad J. Klein (R, District 78) – jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov
    Kevin Koester (R, District 38) – kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
    Dave Maxwell (R, District 76) – dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
    Helen Miller (D, District 9) – helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov
    Norlin Mommsen (R, District 97) – Norlin.Mommsen@legis.iowa.gov
    Scott Ourth (D, District 26) – scott.ourth@legis.iowa.gov
    Ross Paustian (R, District 92) – Ross.Paustian@legis.iowa.gov
    John H. Wills (R, District 1) – John.Wills@legis.iowa.gov

    Absent:

    Jim Lykam (D, District 89) – jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
    Patti Ruff (D, District 56) – patti.ruff@legis.iowa.gov
    Phyllis Thede (D, District 93) – phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov


    Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Permit to Carry process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.