• Who Voted For & Against HF517 – The Biggest Gun Bill in Iowa History

    April 5, 2017

     

    The Iowa Senate has officially passed the largest pro-gun bill in state history. House File 517, also known as the Omnibus Gun Bill, passed the Senate by a 33-17 margin on Tuesday, April 4th. The bill had an amendment, you can read it here, which means it’ll go back to the House for a concurance vote (which we expect it to pass easily) before going to Governor Branstad’s desk.

    The following Senators not only voted Yes on HF517, they also stood and testified in favor of the bill, often countering outrageous claims made by opponents of HF517. We encourage you to reach out to all the Senators who voted yes on HF517, but these seven most certainly deserve thanks.

    Dan Dawson – dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
    Jeff Edler – jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov
    Julian Garret – julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
    Jerry Behn – jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
    Mark Chelgren – mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov
    Brad Zaun – brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov
    Jake Chapman – jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov

    FREE SILENCERCO SUPPRESSOR GIVEAWAY – MUST BE AN IFC MEMBER TO WIN – JOIN TODAY

    Also of note, HF517 passed with bi-partisan support. Republicans who have traditionally been strong supporters of Second Amendment rights were able pull four Democrats into the Yes column. This is significant and the Iowa Firearms Coalition commends these four for listening to the constituents and voting their district. Please take a moment to send them an email thanking them for their Yes vote on HF517.

    Chaz Allen – chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov
    Tod Bowman – tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov
    Wally Horn – wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov
    Rich Taylor – rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

    Remember, all session long legislators get bombarded with emails and phone calls from people demanding that they do this or that. Very rarely does a lawmaker ever hear the words Thank You, and when they do the remember it. It’s important that we acknowledge those who’ve helped protect and enhance our right to keep and bear arms.

    Please, take a few minutes to send a brief email thanking these Senators for their support. It doesn’t have to be anything in-depth. Just tell them you’re an Iowa Firearms Coalition supporter and you appreciate their Yes vote on HF517. You’d be surprised how few people take the time to thank those who do the right thing.

     

    These 33 Senators  voted Yes on HF517

    Bill Anderson
    Jerry Behn
    Rick Bertrand
    Michael Breitbach
    Waylon Brown
    Jake Chapman
    Mark Chelgren
    Mark Costello
    Dan Dawson
    Bill Dix
    Jeff Edler
    Randy Feenstra
    Julian Garrett
    Tom Greene
    Dennis Guth
    Craig Johnson
    Tim Kapucian
    Tim Kraayenbrink
    Mark Lofgren
    Ken Rozenboom
    Charles Schneider
    Jason Schultz
    Mark Segebart
    Tom Shipley
    Amy Sinclair
    Roby Smith
    Jack Whitver
    Brad Zaun
    Dan Zumbach
    Chas Allen
    Tod Bowman
    Wally Horn
    Rich Taylor

    bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov, jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov, rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov, michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov, waylon.brown@legis.iowa.gov, jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov, mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov, mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov, dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov, bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov, jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov, randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov, julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov, tom.greene@legis.iowa.gov, dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov, craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov, tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov, tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov, mark.lofgren@legis.iowa.gov, ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov, charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov, jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov, mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov, tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov, amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov, roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov, jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov, brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov, dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov, chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov, tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov, wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov, rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

     

    These 17 Senators vote No on HF517

    Tony Bisignano
    Joe Bolkcom
    Nate Boulton
    Jeff Danielson
    Bill Dotzler
    Robery Dvorsky
    Rita Hart
    Rob Hogg
    Pam Jochum
    David Johnson
    Kevin Kinney
    Jim Lykam
    Liz Mathis
    Matt McCoy
    Janet Peterson
    Herman Quirmbach
    Amanda Ragan


  • Action Needed! HF517, Iowa’s Stand Your Ground & More

    March 14, 2017


    Senate Moving Quickly on HF517
    Judiciary Committee Planning to Vote Thursday

    Email Your Senator Now

    Friends, this afternoon a three person Iowa Senate subcommittee voted to advance HF517 to the Senate Judiciary Committee. We don’t have an exact time yet, but we believe the Judiciary Committee will vote on this bill on Thursday, 3/16.
    We need you to do these two things FAST:
    1. Email your State Senator – our brand new Advocacy Campaign makes it incredibly easy
    2. Get at least 3 other people to email their Senators – forward this email or send them this link:
    www.votervoice.net/IFC/campaigns/50721/respond
    This is the biggest pro-gun owner bill in state history. Stand Your Ground, Short Barreled Rifles, Youth Shooting, Permit Privacy and more. It’s all wrapped into House File 517.

    Visit our How a Bill Becomes A Law page if you’re wondering how close we are to getting this signed into law (HF517 is currently at step 16 of 20). We’ll be sharing more details on when to expect a vote as they become available. For now we need you to take action and email your Senators and respectfully urge them to vote Yes on HF517.

    Senate Judiciary Committee
    brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov, dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov, rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov, tony.bisignano@legis.iowa.gov, nate.boulton@legis.iowa.gov, jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov, julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov, kevin.kinney@legis.iowa.gov, janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov, charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov, jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov, tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov, amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

    Thank you for helping IFC
    Protect & Enhance the Second Amendment
    in Iowa!


  • Legislative Update – HF517 Assigned to Subcommittee

    March 12, 2017

    Senate Judiciary Subcommittee Assigned
    Omnibus Gun Bill Advances to the Senate
    Second Amendment Day 2017 a resounding SUCCESS!

    HF517 Status Report:

    By now you’ve probably heard, House File 517 breezed through the House last Tuesday on a 58-39 vote. This means HF517, the biggest pro-Second Amendment bill in state history, is now in the Iowa Senate. Our bill has been assigned to the Senate Judiciary Committee and a three person subcommittee consisting of Senators Dan Dawson, Janet Peterson and Brad Zaun. This is very good news.

    As we’ve told you before, Senator Zaun is staunch supporter of the Second Amendment and long time ally of the Iowa Firearms Coalition. Senator Dawson is new to the Iowa Senate (he’s the man who replaced Mike Gronstal) and is a major supporter of gun owner’s rights and has been a big advocate for our bill in the Senate. Both Zaun and Dawson made time to come over to the House and watch the debate on HF517 last Tuesday. Senator Dawson stayed and observed the entire 4+ hour debate. That’s extremely encouraging.

    When will they vote? At this point it’s impossible to tell, nothing is on the schedule yet. Though both Zaun and Dawson have assured us this will not get brushed aside. We could see movement on HF517 in the Senate as early as this week, so be ready to take action on short notice.

    Who Voted YES

    Please take a moment and send a quick thank you to the 58 Republicans and Democrats who voted YES on HF517. Here’s the list of House members Who Voted YES on HF517.

    Thank you to all of you who took time to reach out to your representatives. Representative Scott Ourth, a Democrat, recently explained why he broke ranks with many of his fellow Democrats and voted YES on HF517:
    “I got hundreds emails and phone calls urging me to vote “yes” and hardly any asking me to resist.”
    Because of you and the thousands like you who took the time to send emails and make phone calls Rep. Ourth voted yes on our bill. This proves it yet again, your time and effort are not in vain. Keep up the good work, we’re not done yet!

    2A Day a SUCCESS!

    Big shout out to all of you who took time to join us in the capitol for Second Amendment Day 2017! We had a great turnout of at least 120 people (note: these are all voting age Iowans -not minors- who are unpaid and took time off work to join us). We booked a large private room in the capitol so that we could have a number of speakers join us, unfortunately the room was too small to hold everyone, we had more than 30 people lined up outside the door trying to get in.​
    ​​​​​​
    We’re extremely pleased (and proud) to report that everything went smoothly. We had a great crowd. Everyone in attendance did an outstanding job of representing IFC and gun owners everywhere. And we got to see the House vote on a historic pro-gun owner bill.We’re already planning on doing this again next year so please make plans to join us for Second Amendment Day 2018!

    Forums

    Don’t forget, your legislators hold town hall meetings and forums regularly. Right now they’re getting bombarded by anti-gunners. It’s critical that these lawmakers hear from Iowans like you. We need to make sure we’re balancing out the gun control arguments and making it abundantly clear that a majority of Iowans like you want their right to keep and bear arms protected and enhanced. State legislator forum schedule

    While you’ve got your calendar out, Senator Joni Ernst is holding a pair of town meetings in Cedar Rapids and in Des Moines this Friday. If you can, please get to her meeting and speak up about the Second Amendment! Senator Joni Ernst forums

    More updates to come,
    Thanks for supporting the
    Iowa Firearms Coalition