The Winnebago County Board of Supervisors unanimously approved a resolution on Monday to make their county Iowa’s 18th Second Amendment Sanctuary.

“We are truly amazed but not surprised to see many of Iowa’s local elected officials taking a stand against Constitutional infringements,” said Michael Ware, IFC Chair. “It is our hope Governor Kim Reynolds will take notice of this clear trend sweeping across the Hawkeye state and in turn will issue a proclamation soon declaring all of Iowa a Second Amendment Sanctuary.”

While Second Amendment Sanctuary legislation at the county level does not supersede federal law, it does prevent local resources from being used to enforce measures that are at odds with the U.S. Constitution.

The IFC has been working with state and local elected officials to protect the right of Iowans to keep and bear arms in the wake of threats by some in Washington, D.C. to support actions which would infringe upon the Second Amendment.

Iowa’s Second Amendment Sanctuary Counties, so far, also include: Mitchell, Chickasaw, Pocahontas, Hardin, Carroll, Jasper, Cedar, Washington, Madison, Mills, Adams, Clarke, Humboldt, Kossuth, Ringgold, Buchanan and Wayne.

Hancock and Guthrie counties’ supervisors are expected to vote on their own Second Amendment Sanctuary resolutions next week.

The Iowa Firearms Coalition, an affiliate of the NRA, is a 501(c4) nonprofit and Iowa’s only effective gun rights organization.