The Taylor and Lucas County Board of Supervisors, respectively, have each approved their own resolutions to make their counties Second Amendment Sanctuaries. There are now 26 Second Amendment Sanctuary Counties in Iowa.

“This is the third Iowa county to pass a Second Amendment Sanctuary resolution this week,” said Dave Funk, IFC President. “While we applaud, and encourage more of Iowa’s counties to pass their own resolutions, the speed at which local elected leaders are taking a stand against unnecessary federal overreach should send a clear message to Washington that Iowans will not accept any steps to infringe on their civil rights.”

While Second Amendment Sanctuary legislation at the county level does not supersede federal law, it does prevent local resources from being used to enforce measures that are at odds with the U.S. Constitution.

The IFC has been working with state and local elected officials to protect the right of Iowans to keep and bear arms in the wake of threats by some in Washington, D.C. to support actions that would infringe upon the Second Amendment.

Iowa’s Second Amendment Sanctuary Counties, so far, also include: Mitchell, Chickasaw, Pocahontas, Hardin, Carroll, Jasper, Cedar, Washington, Madison, Mills, Adams, Clarke, Humboldt, Kossuth, Ringgold, Buchanan, Van Buren, Winnebago, Decatur, Dallas, Guthrie, Benton, Page, and Wayne.

If your County isn’t a 2A Sanctuary yet, READ THIS and get the ball rolling!

The Iowa Firearms Coalition, an affiliate of the NRA, is a 501(c4) nonprofit and Iowa’s only effective gun rights organization.