Who Voted For & Against HF517 – The Biggest Gun Bill in Iowa History

 

The Iowa Senate has officially passed the largest pro-gun bill in state history. House File 517, also known as the Omnibus Gun Bill, passed the Senate by a 33-17 margin on Tuesday, April 4th. The bill had an amendment, you can read it here, which means it’ll go back to the House for a concurance vote (which we expect it to pass easily) before going to Governor Branstad’s desk.

The following Senators not only voted Yes on HF517, they also stood and testified in favor of the bill, often countering outrageous claims made by opponents of HF517. We encourage you to reach out to all the Senators who voted yes on HF517, but these seven most certainly deserve thanks.

Dan Dawson – dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Jeff Edler – jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov
Julian Garret – julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry Behn – jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Chelgren – mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov
Brad Zaun – brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Chapman – jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov

FREE SILENCERCO SUPPRESSOR GIVEAWAY – MUST BE AN IFC MEMBER TO WIN – JOIN TODAY

Also of note, HF517 passed with bi-partisan support. Republicans who have traditionally been strong supporters of Second Amendment rights were able pull four Democrats into the Yes column. This is significant and the Iowa Firearms Coalition commends these four for listening to the constituents and voting their district. Please take a moment to send them an email thanking them for their Yes vote on HF517.

Chaz Allen – chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov
Tod Bowman – tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov
Wally Horn – wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov
Rich Taylor – rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

Remember, all session long legislators get bombarded with emails and phone calls from people demanding that they do this or that. Very rarely does a lawmaker ever hear the words Thank You, and when they do the remember it. It’s important that we acknowledge those who’ve helped protect and enhance our right to keep and bear arms.

Please, take a few minutes to send a brief email thanking these Senators for their support. It doesn’t have to be anything in-depth. Just tell them you’re an Iowa Firearms Coalition supporter and you appreciate their Yes vote on HF517. You’d be surprised how few people take the time to thank those who do the right thing.

 

These 33 Senators  voted Yes on HF517

Bill Anderson
Jerry Behn
Rick Bertrand
Michael Breitbach
Waylon Brown
Jake Chapman
Mark Chelgren
Mark Costello
Dan Dawson
Bill Dix
Jeff Edler
Randy Feenstra
Julian Garrett
Tom Greene
Dennis Guth
Craig Johnson
Tim Kapucian
Tim Kraayenbrink
Mark Lofgren
Ken Rozenboom
Charles Schneider
Jason Schultz
Mark Segebart
Tom Shipley
Amy Sinclair
Roby Smith
Jack Whitver
Brad Zaun
Dan Zumbach
Chas Allen
Tod Bowman
Wally Horn
Rich Taylor

bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov, jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov, rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov, michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov, waylon.brown@legis.iowa.gov, jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov, mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov, mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov, dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov, bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov, jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov, randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov, julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov, tom.greene@legis.iowa.gov, dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov, craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov, tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov, tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov, mark.lofgren@legis.iowa.gov, ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov, charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov, jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov, mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov, tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov, amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov, roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov, jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov, brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov, dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov, chaz.allen@legis.iowa.gov, tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov, wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov, rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

 

These 17 Senators vote No on HF517

Tony Bisignano
Joe Bolkcom
Nate Boulton
Jeff Danielson
Bill Dotzler
Robery Dvorsky
Rita Hart
Rob Hogg
Pam Jochum
David Johnson
Kevin Kinney
Jim Lykam
Liz Mathis
Matt McCoy
Janet Peterson
Herman Quirmbach
Amanda Ragan


Our readers said:

Write us your thoughts about this post. Be kind & Play nice.
  1. Larry Lint says:

    Thank you all for approving HF517

  2. Cork (Blaine) Byers says:

    A copy of my email sent to Senator David Johnson :

    Dear Sir:
    I am disappointed that you voted against HF517. Before I rush to judgement about how I will be voting in the upcoming election cycles, would you care to clarify exactly why you voted against this bill? I will be sharing your answer/reply with my friends and colleagues so feel free to be as precise as you can with your reasoning.
    Blaine (Cork) Byers
    Spencer, IA

    I obviously only expect a form letter in response but we shall see.

    Cork

  3. Cork (Blaine) Byers says:

    His reply 1st, then mine:
    Blaine,
    Before I rush a reply, I can’t find a listing for you in Spencer, or Clay County for that matter. And if I do write a detailed reply, can you assure me that it will be shared with your friends and colleagues in its totality? You know, so many people are taken out of context these days!
    Yours in the Second Amendment,
    David Johnson
    State Senator
    P.O. Box 279
    Ocheyedan, Iowa 51354-0279
    712-348-2953
    david.johnson@legis.iowa.gov

    David:
    Odd that you can not find me. Is this a request for my address? Not sure how you looked for me but I assure you I am on the tax roles, the real estate roles, voter registration, etc. Feel free to ask if you wish my address.

    As to …”if I do write a detailed reply, can you assure me that it will be shared with your friends and colleagues in its totality?”, I give you my word it will.

    So often these days, so many people do not believe that their word is their bond. I do.

    Blaine Byers

Express your thoughts