On Iowa’s 175th birthday, Pottawattamie County became the states 30th county to pass a resolution declaring itself a 2nd Amendment Sanctuary. Pott County joins a long list of counties who have recognized the freedom that is the right to bear arms. Our next two counties to keep an eye on are Cherokee and Montgomery, if you’re a resident of those counties or would like to see your county pass a similar resolution, feel free to reach out to us. 

While Iowa Firearms Coalition is supporting this across the state, it takes residents of those respective counties to step up and lead the charge. We simply provide the information and social media support. 

A bill has been introduced into the legislature to make all of Iowa a 2nd Amendment Sanctuary, we believe Governor Kim Reynolds supports this resolution, and with every county passing one it solidifies the support to make it happen at the state level. Lets keep the momentum rolling, get 2A Sanctuary on your Supervisors agenda today! For information on 2A Sanctuary click Here

The Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors approved a resolution on Tuesday to make their community a Second Amendment Sanctuary County. With the move, they become the 30th county in less than six months to pass such a resolution.  
“A major milestone in the pro-freedom movement has been met today with 30 percent of all of Iowa’s counties now declaring themselves to be Second Amendment Sanctuaries,” said Dave Funk, IFC President. “We would like to thank the Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors for supporting the rights of those they serve. Moreover, we’re optimistic their vote serves as yet another signal to lawmakers in Des Moines that now is the time to act and declare the entire Hawkeye State a Second Amendment Sanctuary.”    
The IFC has been working with state and local elected officials to protect the right of Iowans to keep and bear arms in the wake of threats by some in Washington, D.C. to support actions which would infringe upon the Second Amendment. 
Iowa’s Second Amendment Sanctuary Counties, so far, also include: Mitchell, Chickasaw, Pocahontas, Hardin, Carroll, Jasper, Cedar, Washington, Madison, Mills, Adams, Clarke, Humboldt, Kossuth, Ringgold, Buchanan, Van Buren, Winnebago, Decatur, Dallas, Guthrie, Benton, Page, Lucas, Taylor, Union, Hancock, Buena Vista and Wayne. 
The Iowa Firearms Coalition, an affiliate of the NRA, is a 501(c4) nonprofit and is Iowa’s only effective gun rights organization.
To Join us in the fight please consider donating to our PAC Here
To become a member of Iowa Firearms Coalition today Membership
Dillon Daughenbaugh – IFC Communications Director